dark        

Flixist's Fall/Winter movie preview that's better than all of everything

0

The best movies coming to you this Fall/Winter

Oh, Fall. How quickly you come, and with you you bring movies that we need to start caring about again. As we close out October we finally start to see the Oscar hopefuls begin to trickle in (not to mention horror classics) and we know that we are once again leaving the movie doldrums. 

But with so much coming how will you know what you really need to see? Trust the editors at Flixist to give you a going guide at what we're really excited for. This isn't the most complete (no Hobbits!) list of films coming out, but damn if we don't want to see these so badly we actually sat down and wrote words about them. OK, we do that all the time about movies, but trust us, these films below are going to be awesome. 

Ouija
Director: Stiles White
Release date: October 24th, 2014

I'll be honest: Ouija looks like the best kind of dumb scary movie. A girl dies and her friends decide to contact her spirit with a Ouija board, and then, shocker, they contact something else. There's lots of modern ghost horror movie staples abound in the trailer (possession-induced body horror, figures walking past the oblivious character, et cetera), and I find myself almost embarrassingly excited for this film. The fact that it stars Bates Motel cutie pie Olivia Cooke only adds to my anticipation. Fortunately, it's only days away, so I won't be kept in suspense too much longer! - Sean Walsh

Horns
Director: Alexandre Aja
Release date: October 31st, 2014

Horns is based on the second novel by Joe Hill, son of Stephen King and one of my favorite authors, which happens to be one of my favorite books. It is a supernatural tale of revenge that sees a young man wake up after a bender the day after the anniversary of his girlfriend's brutal murder with a pair of horns on his head and some interesting new abilities at his disposal. One of these abilities makes people tell him the truth, so he decides to use them to solve the murder of the love of his life. I was on the fence about Daniel Radcliffe as Ig, our stalwart protagonist, but after watching the trailer, I find myself backing that idea 100%. Add Juno Temple as his dearly departed girlfriend, Max Minghella as his best friend, and James freaking Remar as his father and you've got my most anticipated film of the season. Hopefully it's more faithful to the book than a lot of Joe Hill's father's adaptations... - Sean Walsh


Nightcrawler
Director:
 
Dan Gilroy
Release Date: October 31st, 2014

My hype for Nightcrawler is the result of a teaser trailer done right. I had no idea this film even existed until the brief teaser labeled "Hard Worker Seeking Employment" caught me hook, line and sinker. Jake Gyllenhaal is a powerhouse whose been on a string of very good films lately and something is telling me Nightcrawler is definitely going to keep that streak going. "If you want to win the lottery, you have to make the money to buy a ticket." Genius. - Nick Valdez


Interstellar
Director: Christopher Nolan
Release Date: November 5th, 2014

I’ve said before that I would follow Christopher Nolan to the ends of the Earth. Funny, then, that his newest film goes beyond that. As much as I love Batman Begins and The Dark Knight, I’ve always been more excited by the films he’s made in between. The Prestige and Inception are both absolutely fantastic, and I expect Interstellar to blow me away. What I’ve seen looks fascinating, if nothing else, and Nolan’s preference for practical effects over CGI makes me hope that this will be one of the most beautiful space films since the advent of computer technology. The fact that it was shot (at least in part) in IMAX all but guarantees that. Coming off of the “McConaissance,” Matthew McConaughey is in a perfect position to show off his skills in a massive Hollywood blockbuster after his string of independent leading roles. If nothing else, I expect Interstellar to be the best high-budget film of the year. And hopefully it can be even more than that. – Alec Kubas-Meyer

Big Hero 6
Directors: Don Hall and Chris Williams
Release date: November 7th, 2014

Big Hero 6, for those not in the know, is actually a Marvel property, and considerably more obscure than even Guardians of the Galaxy. While the characters are all based on their comic counterparts, this movie looks like it will be offering its own take on them coming together, which is fine, because it's Big Hero 6; I'm sure you could fit all the angry fans knit-picking this adaptation into one theater. That being said, this movie looks adorable and better yet, looks fun. On top of that, it has a killer voice cast including 30 Rock's Scott Adsit as Disney's next big icon, Baymax, Jamie Chung as GoGo Tomago, Damon Wayans, Jr. as Wasabi, Génesis Rodriguez as Honey Lemon, T.J. Miller as Fredzilla, as well as Maya Rudolph, James Cromwell, and Alan Tudyk. It might not take place in the Marvel Cinematic Universe, but it looks like Big Hero 6 is going to be a worthy addition to the Marvel film library. - Sean Walsh

Dumb and Dumber To
Director: The Farrelly Brothers
Release Date: November 14th, 2014

Jim Carrey and Jeff Daniels return in the long-awaited sequel to Dumb and Dumber. It’s been two decades (both in real life and in the film) since Harry and Lloyd have been together, and this time, they’re off to find Harry’s long-lost daughter, who was born in 1991, with the ultimate goal of getting a new kidney. The sequel will almost certainly beat the original’s paltry $16 million opening weekend, but can it gross more than the original’s $127 million lifetime total? The past shows that time is a sequel’s worst enemy. Take a look at Frank Miller’s Sin City: A Dame to Kill, which had a lifetime gross that wasn’t even half of the original’s opening weekend total. While it’s not the longest time between the original and a sequel (that actually belongs to Bambi – 63 years between the original and the sequel), it’s definitely a gamble. - Jonathan Wray

Foxcatcher
Director: Bennett Miller
Release date: November 14th, 2014

Some of my favorite movies to watch feature actors outside of their typical genre, like Robin Williams in One Hour Photo or Insomnia or Dwayne Johnson in The Tooth Fairy(don't hate), and Foxcatcher is a pitch-black true crime genre that stars Steve Carrell as asuper­-intense wrestling coach training a similarly intense Channing Tatum as an Olympic hopeful in wrestling. This movie looks like it could be one of the most intense of the year, and the suspenseful, stress-inducing trailers give a glimpse into what could possibly be Oscar-worthy performances by both men. I have a feeling that come Thanksgiving, I'll know what I'll be giving thanks for. - Sean Walsh

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1
Director: Francis Lawrence
Release Date: November 21st, 2014

I’ve never read The Hunger Games or its sequels. I grew up with Harry Potter, but aside from The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, I actually haven’t really read a book series in years. It means I go into The Hunger Games films blind, or as blind as I can be. By many accounts, this makes the experience of The Hunger Games films much more enjoyable. I’m not worried about narrative inconsistencies or the other things that are added or lost by the definition of a translation. All that matters to me is that I get a good movie. Both The Hunger Games and Catching Fire were great movies, and I expect the two Mockingjay films to keep that going. I haven’t the faintest idea what they’re about (probably revolution), but that just excites me more. – Alec Kubas-Meyer

The Imitation Game
Director:
Morten Tyldum
Release Date: November 21, 2014

I've actually already seen The Imitation Game, but I'm embargoed on saying anything about it at the moment. So I'm not saying anything, but I am putting it on this list of movies we're looking forward to. Take that as you will. Maybe I'm doing it just to trick you. Maybe I'm not. Either way Benedict Cumberbatch is in it and that's enough excuse to see almost anything. - Matthew Razak

Horrible Bosses 2
Director: 
Sean Anders
Release Date: November 26th, 2014

The reveal of Horrible Bosses 2 was a bit of a surprise as I don’t really remember anyone asking for a sequel, yet here we are. Everyone’s back on board (except Colin Farrell, of course), and Sean Anders will be taking over directorial duties from Seth Gordon. The sequel will see Nick (Bateman), Dale (Day), and Kurt (Sudeikis) going into business for themselves, only to have an investor change his mind about financially supporting the trio. They look to raise funds elsewhere, only to have the whole scheme go sideways. Look for Jason Sudeikis to have a crazy idea, Jason Bateman to be levelheaded about the whole ordeal, and Charlie Day to steal the spotlight again (but presumably without the help of the The Ting Tings). - Jonathan Wray

The Badabook
Director: Jennifer Kent
Release Date: November 28, 2014

I've been waiting all year for a truly great horror film and it just hasn't materialized yet. If early word on The Badadook is any indication it will arrive on November 28. A bit late for Halloween, but plenty of time to put it on year's best lists. Jennifer Kent's first full length film is getting rave reviews for being truly scary instead of just loud noises and jump scares. Check out the trailer if you don't believe me. There's great horror coming for us. - Matthew Razak 

Annie
Director: Will Gluck
Release Date: December 19th, 2014

Ok, yes, honestly I'm mostly excited about 2014's Annie because it means I'll get to watch Quvenzhané Wallis act again. And I'm not sorry about that. The pint-sized dynamo stars as the titular character in this modern retelling of the classic 1970s musical and Jamie Foxx stars as Will Stacks, an updated version of Daddy Warbucks. Annie's previews look like the film will stay true to the Annie tradition and be a fun, cutesy, feel-good movie for the holidays. - Liz Rugg

The Song of the Sea
Director: Tomm Moore
Release Date: December 19th, 2014

The Song of the Sea is probably my most anticipated movie of 2014. It looks stunning. It's being traditionally animated by Cartoon Saloon, the Irish animation company that created the much-acclaimed The Secret of Kells. Following in Kells' style, The Song of the Sea follows two young children, a brother named Ben and a sister named Saoirse, as they rediscover ancient magic and fantastical worlds. I'm already totally in love. - Liz Rugg

The Interview
Directors:
 
Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg
Release Date: December 25th, 2014

This is the End ended up being one of my favorite films of 2013. I've been waiting forever for Rogen and Goldberg's next film, The Interview for good reason. While I'm not sure anything is going to be as funny as TiTE going forward, Interview's premise is so crazy (a pop reporter and his partner interview and attempt to assassinate North Korean dictator Kim Jong-un) that it's gotten North Korea's attention. If this movie causes the end of the world, I want front row seats. - Nick Valdez


Into the Woods
Director: Rob Marshall
Release Date: December 25th, 2014 

Meryl Streep. 

What, you're still here? Fine it's based upon a classic musical and has every actor who has ever acted in it and they're going to sing.

You want more?  Anna Kendricks. There. Go get your tickets.

You are logged out. Login | Sign up

 
 

 

TwitterRedditEmailFacebook
 
Flixist Staff
Flixist StaffEditors   gamer profile

We are the editors of Flixist. more + disclosures


 


 



Filed under... #Fall Movie Preview #Flixist Originals #Previews #Top Stories

READER COMMENTS LOADING BELOW...


LET'S KEEP THE COMMUNITY GREAT


You're not expected to always agree, but do please keep cool and never make it personal. Report harassment, spam, and hate speech to our community team. Also, on the right side of a comment you can flag nasty comments anonymously (we ban users dishing bad karma). For everything else, contact us!